Windows Cloud OS

17 10 2008

By Kris at 4:17 PM

Will you trust the Windows Cloud operating system with your data? Well for those of you who haven’t been listening to the news lately Steve Ballmer stated that Microsoft is creating a new operating system separate from the upcoming Windows 7. Steve Ballmer didn’t confess too much about the mysterious cloud other than that a company’s developer conference will be held at the end of the October in Los Angeles. Most people know that Windows Cloud will be an operating system that will store your data onto a Microsoft server or better known as the “cloud”. After that your data will be reachable from any computer, or in the future from any device that has an internet connection.

Microsoft is planning on changing the name to something snazzier. Steve Ballmer said that, “Microsoft needs an OS in the Cloud.” A big problem is going to be if consumers will trust Microsoft with their data. I don’t know if I would want to put my data onto Microsoft’s server, I mean who knows what could happen what if their servers get hacked or destroyed. I don’t know about you, but I probably wont trust Microsoft with all my data. In theory the idea is really smart, I just hope Microsoft will secure the data. Another issue is speed. Right now it’s faster and easier to play song from your computer then from Last.FM, so speed will probably be a huge factor that Microsoft will have to overcome. Many people are speculating that Google will go into competition with Microsoft shortly have the release of Windows Cloud. I if it becomes a war between Microsoft and Google, I think Google would dominate because they’ve been into cloud computing with Google Docs for a while now. So will you trust Windows Cloud with your data? Please comment.

Actions

Information

2 responses

18 10 2008
Erwin Blonk

I basically trust Microsoft for the security. My main issue is usability. I have online storage as a backup. For editing I need to download it first.
I haven’t figured out if it will be a terminal services type of setup. I’d go for that.

24 10 2008
Zac Dee

I don’t think i will trust them completely. But i might trust them with a back-up of some of my movies, music, and non-personal files.

Leave a Reply

